API Key Management

Senet's integration APIs are secured through the use of API keys. Administrative users can generate new keys to provide targeted access to specific features, as well as delete existing keys using the 'API Keys' view, found under 'Administration'.

screenshot

There are 2 main types of API keys: Application and Customer. Click the screenshot button to create a new key.

screenshot

Application API Keys

Application API Keys may be used for a wide variety of activities, including:

Note

Onboarding devices is a critical workflow primarily completed by Application Providers. Details can be found in the App-Provider documentation here.

Application Access Roles

To better secure Network access and configuration, Roles scope access to specific Device APIs. These include:

Role URIs
Device: Full Access Device: Downlinks
Device: FUOTA
Device: Onboarding
Device: Read Access
Device: Downlinks /integration/device/sendmsg
/integration/device/sendmcastmsg
/integration/device/clearmsgs
Device: FUOTA /integration/mcastTransfer
/integration/mcastCancel
/integration/mcastStatus
Device: Onboarding /integration/device/status
/integration/device/register
/integration/device/activate
/integration/device/activateOne
/integration/device/deactivate
/integration/device/update
Device: Read Access /integration/device/csvExport

Customer API Keys

Customer API Keys provide access to customer billing and contract data.

Customer Access Role

The following Customer Role scopes access to the billing and usage APIs. These include:

Role URIs
Billing Access /integration/usage/details
/integration/usage/contracts

Deleting an API Key

API Keys cannot be edited: only created or deleted. To delete, select the targeted key's row from the table and press the screenshot button. A dialog will appear.

When deleting an Application API Key, enter the key's corresponding Application EUI to confirm deletion.

screenshot

When deleting a Customer API Key, enter the key's corresponding Customer ID to confirm deletion.

screenshot

Note

If the selected key was used within the past 3 days, the dialog will require an additional confirmation.